European Commission blocked the air to Armenia

Created on 23.06.2020 08:43

Armenian carriers were included on the European Commission blacklist. Currently, all airlines of the republic are prohibited to EU countries with some exceptions, according to ATO portal.

The European Commission has updated the EU Air Safety List. At the moment, it includes Armenian companies, having the Air Operator Certificate (AOC). There are six carriers: Armenia, Armenia Airways, Atlantis Armenian Airlines, Armenian Helicopters, Atlantis European Airways and Mars Avia and Skyball, balloon operator. The issue,  concerning lifting of restrictions on Armenian carriers might be discussed in November 2022.

“The EU Air Safety List must be used as a tool, helping airlines and countries referred to in the list, to make a review and improve their flight standards. A decision to include Armenian carriers on the list was adopted on the common opinion of the Aviation Safety Committee. The Commission, assisted by EASA, is ready to cooperate and invest in Armenia in order to improve flight safety," said Adina Valean, European Commissioner for Transport.